« Joanna Goodale is undoubtedly a singular artist who should be followed closely. »

Jean-Marie Blanchard

 

« What a talent!  »

Menahem Pressler

 

« Joanna Goodale is without a doubt

original and innovative  »     

Les Napoléons

 

« Joanna Goodale, irreverent young piano talent, succeeds in enchanting an ever-growing audience.  » 

Webzine GANG FLOW

 

« If Joanna carries within her the gift and the grace, she possesses, beyond the borders, the beauty of audacity. »

Magazine TRAJECTOIRE 

« Joanna Goodale's playing is above all natural and, imbued with authentic research, blossoms in freedom and spontaneity.»

Dominique Weber

« Joanna Goodale creates a work that brings together sounds and silences from the West and the East that remind us of our universality as human beings.»

Banu Gökoğlan

BIOGRAPHY IN FRENCH

JOANNA GOODALE, pianist & composer

Born into a British-Turkish family, Joanna Goodale is a French-Swiss pianist with an eclectic and creative career, opening up the classical repertoire to sacred music of the Middle and Far East, through her interpretations and compositions.

Hailed by the press (France Musique, RFI, RTS and RTBF), her first album BACH IN A CIRCLE, uniting Bach’s music with her own arrangements of Sufi chants (Turkey / Iran), was released in 2019 by Label Paraty and with the support of the Fondation Tempo, the Fondation Engelberts and the Swiss National Radio RTS (Espace 2). Her second album DEBUSSY IN RESONANCE, produced by the Swiss National Radio, will feature Debussy's works along her own compositions for piano, gongs and bowls, and will be released early 2022 by Label Paraty.

 

Joanna Goodale is regularly invited to perform in Europe. Graduated from a Master of Arts in Piano (Geneva) and a Master of Arts in Anthropology (London), she benefited from the advice of international pianists such as Alice Ader, Alain Kremski, Cédric Pescia, Menahem Pressler and Anne Queffélec. Inspired by improvising pianists such as Gabriela Montero, Jean-François Zygel and Marc Vella, she plays in concert her own comprovisations, linked to the interpreted repertoire.

 

Passionate of hybrid projects, she forms AFSHAN TRIO -persian inspired music- with Pouya Khoshravesh (kamanche) and Simon Leleux (percussion), collaborates with the Sufi dancer Sahar Dehghan, with Leili Anvar for poetic concert-readings, and with the actress Pascale Bessard around the life of Erik SATIE. She also plays with the Kora player Sankhoum Cissokho and with the pianist Anna Benzakoun in FRACTALES piano-duo.

 

Born in Switzerland, Joanna Goodale studied at the Music Conservatory of Geneva where her musical talent and perfect pitch were quickly noticed. She continued her studies at the Haute Ecole de Musique (HEM) de Genève with Dominique Weber, in the lineage of Leon Fleisher. Joanna is also specialised in piano pedagogy (Master) and has been teaching passionately for over a decade. She runs workshops on improvisation and prepared piano in schools, festivals and on the fringes of her concerts.

 

Deeply convinced that music can transcend borders and touch the sublime, she invites her public to enter in communion with sound and silence in a space-time of rare intensity.

 

Invited at: Pianoctambule, Festival Font-Romeu, Musée du Piano, Festival Soufi de Paris, Institut des Cultures d'Islam, Festival de Pompignan, Institut Yunus Emre, Festival de la Cité de Lausanne (Switzerland), Lavaux Classic, Piano Salon Cristophori (Germany), Bezirhane Venue (Turkey)...

NEWS
logorts.jpg
Logo Tempo Noir.png
LOGO FEAC.jpg
Screenshot 2021-06-27 at 19.58.06.png
logo_pianos_service_noir.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-06-09 à 00.13.57.

« Joanna Goodale est sans aucun doute une artiste singulière qu’il convient de suivre attentivement. »

Jean-Marie Blanchard

 

« Quel talent! »

Menahem Pressler

 

« Originale et innovante Joanna Goodale l’est sans aucun doute. »    

Les Napoléons

 

« Joanna Goodale, irrévérencieux jeune talent du piano, réussit à enchanter un public toujours plus nombreux. » 

Webzine GANG FLOW

 

« Si Joanna porte en elle le don et la grâce, elle possède par delà les frontières, la beauté de l’audace. »

Magazine TRAJECTOIRE 

« Le jeu de Joanna Goodale est avant tout naturel et, empreint d'une authentique recherche, s'épanouit dans la liberté et la spontanéité »

Dominique Weber

        Pianiste franco-suisse d’origine anglo-turque, Joanna Goodale se distingue par un parcours éclectique et libre, reliant le répertoire classique aux musiques sacrées d'Orient. Son premier concept-album « Bach in a Circle » réunissant l’oeuvre de Bach et ses propres arrangements de musiques Soufies (Turquie / Iran), sorti en 2019 chez Label Paraty avec le soutien de la Fondation Tempo, de la Fondation Engelberts et de la Radio Télevision Suisse (Espace 2), a été remarqué et diffusé par France Musique, RFI et RTS.

 

Joanna Goodale est régulièrement invitée à jouer en Europe. Diplômée d’un Master of Arts en Piano (Genève) et d’un Master of Arts en Anthropologie (Londres), elle a bénéficié du soutien de la Fondation L’ABRI et des conseils de pianistes internationaux tels que Alice Ader, Alain Kremski, Cédric Pescia, Menahem Pressler et Anne Queffélec. Inspirée par des pianistes improvisateurs tels que Gabriela Montero, Jean-François Zygel, Alain Kremksi, Marc Vella et Edouard Ferlet, elle joue en concert ses propres comprovisations, en lien avec le répertoire interprété.

Passionnée de projets hybrides, elle collabore avec la danseuse soufie Sahar Dehghan dans "Bach to Sufi Dance", avec Leili Anvar pour des concerts-lectures, et avec la comédienne Pascale Bessard dans "Les Gourmandises de Satie". Elle fait également partie d'un trio de musique persane métissée AFSHAN TRIO avec Pouya Khoshravesh (kamanche) et Simon Leleux (percussion), d'un duo de musique mandingue avec le joueur de Kora Sankhoum Cissokho et forme FRACTALES piano-duo avec la pianiste Anna Benzakoun.

 

Née en Suisse, elle se forme aux Conservatoires de Musique de Genève où elle est vite remarquée pour son talent et son oreille absolue. Elle intègre ensuite la Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève auprès de Dominique Weber, dans la lignée de Léon Fleisher. Également spécialisée en pédagogie du piano, elle a  enseigné avec passion pendant plus de dix ans en s’inspirant de pédagogies actives et anime des ateliers d’initiation à l’improvisation et au piano préparé dans les écoles, les festivals et en marge de ses concerts.

 

Profondément convaincue que la musique peut transcender les frontières et toucher au sublime, elle invite son public à entrer en communion avec le son et le silence dans un espace-temps d’une rare intensité.

Invitée au : Festival de Font-Romeu, Festival de Fès de la culture soufie, Lavaux Classic, Musée du Piano, Festival de la Cité de Lausanne, Festival Soufi de Paris, Institut des Cultures d'Islam, Piano Salon Cristophori (Berlin), Festival de Pompignan, Institut Yunus Emre, Bezirhane Venue (Turquie) ...

Télécharger en pdf